General map of Egypt showing the location of Dayr al-Barsha









Zones at Dayr al-Barsha

The site of Dayr al-Barsha was subdivided into eleven zones.

Zone 1. The top of the hill North of the Wâdî Nâkhla. The area comprises a few tombs and small quarries, and has testimony of undertermined date of Coptic activity (rock crosses).

Zone 2. The level below this zone, comprising the plateau with the nomarchal rock tombs of the Middle Kingdom at the mouth of the Wâdî Nâkhla and the upper part of the slope below these tombs.

Zone 3. The Northward continuation of the level where the nomarchs' tombs just mentioned occur. In this zone there are dozens of limestone quarries inhabited since the early fifth century by Coptic monks.

Zone 4. A concentration of Old Kingdom and First Intermediate Period tombs at the mouth of the Wâdî Nâkhla, below zone 2.

Zone 5. The Wâdî Nâkhla itself, where extensive Pharaonic stone quarries can be found.

Zone 6. The top of the hill South of the Wâdî Nâkhla. In this area there are open air quarries, quarry roads, and a quarrymen's (?) settlement.

Zone 7. A concentration of rock tombs on the southern slope of the Wâdî Nâkhla.

Zone 8. The northern half of the antiquities area in the desert plain between the foothills of the Eastern Desert and the village. The modern drainage canal running from the mouth of the Wâdî Nâkhla to the village forms the southern limit of this area. This area contains a number of large mud brick mastabas of the Middle Kingdom.

Zone 9. The southern half of the desert plain (South of the drainage canal). This area also contains Middle Kingdom mastabas.

Zone 10. The antiquities area in the centre of the village. It is a cemetery area which, in antiquity, formed the continuation of the cemeteries in zones 8 and 9.

Zone 11. The antiquities area on the southern border of Deir al-Barsha, called el-Tôd.

Map showing quarry roads in the wider Dayr al-Barsha region